The Cultural Harz

Those who think that in the Harz, "you can't see the culture for the trees," are wildly off the mark. The forests of the Harz can tell you more about a unique cultural landscape than you would think at first sight. Even the name "Harz" is derived from the old German word, "Hart", meaning mountain forest. And today's woodland is an artificial product in many parts. The impenetrable coniferous forests are the result of an industry that transformed the Harz, especially around Clausthal-Zellerfeld and Mansfeld, and brought prosperity to the Harz people over many centuries: Mining. The underground treasures turned out to be so rich that the only material to support the mineshafts and to melt the metals, wood, simply disappeared from the Harz, and had to be planted again by human hand.

Heinrich Heine wrote, "The Brocken is a German". You can certainly come to the same conclusion for the whole of the Harz region. And yet, German history is reflected in this landscape in very different ways. The historical highlights, with a national, even European significance - the foundation of the Holy Roman Empire, the German Nation and the once more freely accessible Brocken as a symbol of German reunification, to name just a few - are contrasted with the Harz's own local history, reflecting world history, or at some places simply preserving it.

This feeling of time standing still that can be found everywhere, for example when walking through towns full of affectionately restored half-timbered buildings, such as Hornburg, Duderstadt or Wernigerode, takes the visitor into a different world. The Harz offers an almost physically perceptible intensification of this "atmospheric landscape" through events and testimonies which shine only dimly through the passage of time that overlays them.

The Harz can quite easily be seen as a work of art, as a whole. Experience its cultural diversity!

With its castles, fortresses, churches, monasteries, gardens, parks, cultural-historical museums and its historical townscapes, as well as memorials, it is a stage of world history.

Above all in the relicts of the historical Harz mining landscape, the thirst for research and the pioneering spirit can be seen that originated here.

Those two Harz hikers, Goethe and Heine, have firmly cemented the Harz into world literature. But they are not the only renowned artists to be inspired by the history and nature of the Harz. Experience the Harz as an inspiration for geniuses!

Details of the cultural highlights of the Harz can be found at the Harzer Verkehrsverband (Harz Transport Authority), at www.kultur-harz.de

Der Kultur-Harz

Wer im Harz denkt, man sieht die Kultur vor "lauter Bäumen nicht", der irrt gewaltig. Die Wälder des Harzes können mehr über eine einzigartige Kulturlandschaft erzählen, als man auf den ersten Blick annehmen mag. Schon der Name "Harz" leitet sich vom alten deutschen Wort "Hart" für Bergwald ab. Und die heutige Bewaldung ist in vielen Teilen ein Kunstprodukt. Die undurchdringlichen Nadelwälder sind nämlich Ergebnis einer Industrie, die den Harz besonders um Clausthal-Zellerfeld und Mansfeld veränderte und über viele Jahrhunderte den Harzern Lohn und Brot sicherte: Der Bergbau. Dabei erwiesen sich die unterirdischen Schätze als so reichhaltig, dass das einzige Material zur Absicherung der Bergwerke und zum Schmelzen der Metalle, das Holz, bis zum Kahlschlag aus dem Harz verschwand - und von Menschenhand wieder herangezogen werden musste.

Heinrich Heine schrieb "Der Brocken ist ein Deutscher". Diese Feststellung kann man getrost auf den ganzen Harz ausweiten. Dabei spiegelt sich in dieser Landschaft deutsche Geschichte auf höchst unterschiedliche Weise wider. Den historischen Höhepunkten mit nationaler, ja europäischer Bedeutung - die Grundlegung des Heiligen Römischen Reiches Deutscher Nation und der wieder frei zugängliche Brocken als Sinnbild des wiedervereinigten Deutschlands seien hier genannt - setzt der Harz seine eigene lokale Geschichte entgegen, die die Weltgeschichte spiegelt oder an manchen Orten einfach konserviert.

Dieses allerorts zu findende Innehalten in der Zeit zum Beispiel bei einem Gang durch liebevoll restaurierte Fachwerkstädtchen wie Hornburg, Duderstadt oder Wernigerode versetzt den Besucher in eine andere Welt. Eine fast körperlich fühlbare Verstärkung dieser "Stimmungslandschaft" bietet der Harz durch Ereignisse oder Zeugnisse, die nur noch schwach durch den sie überlagernden Zeitenstrom leuchten.

Der Harz kann ohne weiteres als Gesamtkunstwerk gelten. Erleben Sie seine kulturelle Vielfalt!

Er ist mit seinen Burgen, Schlössern, Kirchen, Klöstern Gärten, Parks, kulturgeschichtlichen Museen und seinen historischen Stadtbildern sowie Mahn- und Gedenkstätten eine Bühne der Weltgeschichte.

Vor allem in den Relikten der historischen Bergbaulandschaft Harz zeigt sich der vom Harz ausgehende Forscherdrang und Pioniergeist.

Durch die zwei Harzwanderer Goethe und Heine hat der Harz einen festen Platz in der Weltliteratur. Doch diese beiden sind nicht die einzigen namenhaften Künstler, die sich von der Gesichte und Natur des Harzes inspieren ließen. Erleben Sie den Harz als Inspiration für Genies!

Details zu den kulturellen Highlights des Harzes erhalten Sie beim Harzer Verkehrsverband unter www.kultur-harz.de