The Green Belt: Borders separate. Nature unites!

A whinchat on a former GDR boundary post. Photo: Th. Stephan

The Iron Curtain divided Europe for nearly forty years. From the Barents to the Black Sea, there ran a political, ideological and physical barrier which displayed its inhumanity most strongly in Germany. Barbed wire, walls and mines separated East and West, families and friends. This brutal border allowed nature some breathing space to regenerate. Not only in Germany, but everywhere along the borders, valuable habitats have been preserved as a refuge for rare plants and animals. This unique network of habitats winds its way for more than 12,500 km along the path of the former Iron Curtain, 1,393 km of this through Germany - a lifeline - the Green Belt!

As early as 14 years before the Iron Curtain fell, experts of the Bavarian branch of the BUND had become aware of birdlife within the inner German border strip. They discovered a large variety of species and habitats. Since 1989, the BUND has been active in preserving the Green Belt, along with other organisations and government departments.


Based on the Green Belt Germany, the fascinating idea of the Green Belt Europe was developed. The Green Belt could become the backbone of an ecological network right across Europe. In addition, it is a symbol of unification between East and West - and of cross-border cooperation. The Green Belt connects people beyond frontiers and shows that a unified Europe possesses not only a cultural heritage, but also a mutual natural heritage.

The Green Belt in a monotonous agricultural landscape, southern Harz foothills, Mackenrode. Photo: K. Leidorf

Grünes Band: Grenzen trennen. Natur verbindet!

Werden Sie Anteilschein-Eigner am Grünen Band! Einfach auf das Bild klicken.

Der Eiserne Vorhang teilte Europa fast vier Jahrzehnte. Vom Eismeer bis ans Schwarze Meer verlief eine politische, ideologische und räumliche Barriere, deren Unmenschlichkeit sich am stärksten in Deutschland  zeigte: Stacheldraht, Mauern und Minen trennten Ost und West, Familien und Freunde. Diese unmenschliche Grenze gab der Natur Zeit sich zu regenerieren. Nicht nur in Deutschland, überall entlang der Grenzen blieben wertvolle Lebensräume als Refugium für seltene Pflanzen und Tiere erhalten. Über 12.500 km entlang des einstigen Eisernen Vorhangs, davon 1.393 km durch Deutschland, schlängelt sich der einzigartige Biotopverbund - eine Lebenslinie - das Grüne Band!

Schon 14 Jahre vor dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs wurden Experten des bayerischen Landesverbandes des BUND auf die Vogelwelt im innerdeutschen Grenzstreifen aufmerksam. Sie entdeckten eine große Vielfalt an Arten und Lebensräumen. Seit 1989 engagiert sich der BUND gemeinsam mit weiteren Organisationen und Behörden für den Erhalt des Grünen Bandes.


Ausgehend vom Grünen Band Deutschland hat sich die faszinierende Idee des Grünen Bandes Europa entwickelt. Das Grüne Band kann zu einem Rückgrat für ein ökologisches Netzwerk durch Europa werden. Zudem ist es ein Symbol für die Vereinigung zwischen Ost und West - für grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit. Das Grüne Band verbindet Menschen über Grenzen hinweg und zeigt, dass ein vereintes Europa nicht nur ein kulturelles Erbe, sondern auch ein gemeinsames Naturerbe hat.

Grünes Band in monotoner Agrarlandschaft, südliches Harzvorland, Mackenrode. Foto: K. Leidorf