Harz without frontiers - on Harz border paths through nature and history

In the Harz, the Iron Curtain left quite a mark. For more than four decades, the low mountain range and its foothills were insurmountably divided. East and West faced each other, irreconcilable. The 'Brocken' became a symbol of this, visible from afar - apparently close enough to touch, and yet out of reach for people on both sides.
Since 1989, this border has become history. But the Harz has been a border country for a long time. Especially because of its rich mineral resources, it was long in the focus of the ruling classes. Thus, the inner German border was just a reflection of historical borders which had been drawn much earlier through the region, and the relics of which can still be found everywhere.
Along the Green Belt in the Harz, surrounded by unspoilt natural beauty, you can discover the secrets of a region reflected through the ages. Various partners have come together in the context of the 'Experience Green Belt' project to create new attractions for visitors to the area. Find out more about these attractions here, and join in the fun!

You can obtain information and things you need to know about the Green Belt in the Harz and about your stay in the varied most northern low mountain range in Germany
at www.gruenes-band-harz.de
and also from the
Harzer Tourismusverband
Marktstraße 45
38640 Goslar, Germany
Phone: +49 (0)5321 34040, Fax: +49 (0)5321 340466
info(at)harzinfo.de, www.harzinfo.de

Harz ohne Grenzen - Auf Harzer Grenzwegen durch Natur und Geschichte

Für den Harz war der Eiserne Vorhang besonders prägend. Über vier Jahrzehnte waren das Mittelgebirge und sein Vorland unüberwindbar geteilt. Ost und West standen sich unversöhnlich gegenüber. Der Brocken bildete hierfür ein weithin sichtbares Symbol ? zum Greifen nah und dennoch unerreichbar für die Menschen beider Seiten.
Seit 1989 ist diese Grenze Geschichte. Der Harz war aber schon von alters her Grenzland. Besonders wegen seiner reichen Bodenschätze stand er lange im Fokus der Herrschenden. So war die innerdeutsche Grenze nur ein Abbild historischer Grenzen, die sich schon viel früher durch die Region zogen und deren Relikte sich überall noch finden lassen.
Entlang des Grünen Bandes im Harz, umgeben von urwüchsiger Naturschönheit, können Sie die Geheimnisse einer Region im Spiegel der Zeiten entdecken. Verschiedene Partner haben sich im Rahmen des Projektes ?Erlebnis Grünes Band? zusammengefunden, um neue Angebote für die Besucher der Gegend zu schaffen. Informieren Sie sich hier über die Angebote und seien Sie live dabei!

Wissenswertes und Informatives zum Grünen Band im Harz sowie rund um Ihren Aufenthalt im abechselungsreichen nördlichsten Mittelgebirge Deutschlands erhalten Sie
auf www.gruenes-band-harz.de
sowie beim
Harzer Tourismusverband
Marktstraße 45
38640 Goslar
Tel. 05321 34040, Fax 05321 340466
info(at)harzinfo.de, www.harzinfo.de