A millennium of cultural treasures

The moated castle in Mitwitz is considered to be one of the most beautiful of its kind, and is also one of the birthplaces of the Green Belt.

Art, culture and craftsmanship are always dependent on the external conditions permitted by politics and commerce. This can be seen in the days of a divided Germany, as well as in the preceding history of national states, principalities, bishoprics...

History carved in stone
Numerous castles and fortified churches were built in the Middle Ages as a result of the many small states and territories, borders and trade routes. A number of castles were converted to fortresses in later centuries, such as the Rosenberg fortress in Kronach, and others to romantic castles, such as Wespenstein Castle in Gräfenthal or the Mitwitz moated castle, yet others were destroyed in ancient or more recent times, such as in Blankenberg. In Lichtenberg, only a castle dungeon testifies to the mediaeval times when it was a town of robber barons. Lauenstein Castle, between Ludwigsstadt and Probstzella on the other hand, shines in unblemished splendour and houses - like most other fortresses and castles in the region - an impressive collection of valuable cultural artefacts.

A bridge of the Earth's history made of blue gold
A natural treasure connects Franconia and Thuringia underground: slate. This natural rock gained an increasingly commercial importance over the centuries. Houses with slate roofs create a harmonic appearance in many towns and villages. Along the Thuringian-Franconian Slate Road between Steinach, Lehesten and Dürrenwaid, as well as on the Slate Path between Gräfenthal, Probstzella, Lehesten and Ludwigsstadt, you can find many aspects of the "Blue Gold". This includes the Slate museum in Ludwigsstadt, in the Technical Memorial of the slate town of Lehesten and in Lotharheil, the last active slate mine in Bavaria, near Geroldsgrün, where you can explore the over 400 million-year-old history of the "blue gold".

Kulturschätze aus einem Jahrtausend

Das Wasserschloss in Mitwitz gilt als eines der schönsten seiner Art in Franken und ist außerdem eine der Geburtsstätten des Grünen Bandes.

Kunst, Kultur und Handwerk sind stets äbhängig von den äußeren Rahmenbedingungen, die Politik und Wirtschaft zulassen. Dies zeigt sich in den Zeiten der deutschen Teilung ebenso wie in der weiter zurückliegenden Geschichte der Nationalstaaten, Fürstentümer, Bistümer...

Steingewordene Geschichte
Bedingt durch die vielen Herrschaftsgebiete, Grenzen und Handelswege entstanden im Mittelalter zahlreiche Burgen und Wehrkirchen. Einige Burgen wurden in späteren Jahrhunderten zu Festungen ausgebaut, wie die Festung Rosenberg in Kronach, andere zu romantischen Schlössern, wie das Schloss Wespenstein in Gräfenthal oder das Wasserschloss Mitwitz, wiederum andere wurden in älterer oder neuerer Zeit zerstört, wie in Blankenberg. In Lichtenberg zeugt nur noch ein Burgfried von den mittelalterlichen Zeiten als Raubritterstädtchen. Die Burg Lauenstein zwischen Ludwigsstadt und Probstzella wiederum erstrahlt in makellosem Glanze und beherbergt - wie die meisten anderen Burgen und Schlösser der Region auch - eine sehenswerte Sammlung an wertvollen Kulturgütern.

Eine Brücke der Erdgeschichte aus blauem Gold
Ein Naturschatz verbindet Franken und Thüringen im Untergrund: der Schiefer. Das Naturgestein erlangte im Laufe der Jahrhunderte eine zunehmende wirtschaftliche Bedeutung. Die schiefergedeckten Häuser ergänzen sich in vielen Städten und Dörfern zu einem harmonischen Ortsbild. Entlang der Thüringisch-fränkischen Schieferstraße zwischen Steinach, Lehesten und Dürrenwaid sowie auf dem Schieferpfad zwischen Gräfenthal, Probstzella, Lehesten und Ludwigsstadt erlebt man vielfältige Aspekte des "Blauen Goldes". Unter anderem im Schiefermuseum in Ludwigsstadt, im Technischen Denkmal der Schieferstadt Lehesten und in Lotharheil, dem letzten aktiven Schieferbergwerk in Bayern, bei Geroldsgrün kann man der über 400 Millionen Jahre alten Geschichte des "blauen Goldes" nachgehen.